Ask Me If I Care

 

This weekend I starred my anxiety in the eye. Today I decided not to fear the thoughts that arise. Those thoughts that tell me who the world tells me that I am can scream as loud as it can. Today I decide not to listen. You can no longer break me because I am ready for you. Come and get me because I refuse to hide any longer. I am ready for whatever you are willing to throw at me because you no longer have power over me.

This weekend I realized how much I allowed my anxiety to get the best of me when I went on a trip to Philly. As fun as my trip was, anxiety managed to distract me from an amazing experience. As I tried to enjoy myself, anxiety crippled me from allowing my personality to flourish. When I was at a party the negative thoughts made me a wall flower.

Although I do consider myself quite introverted sometimes, I still like to let off some steam. You know, let loose and just be free to do me but it didn’t work out like that.

On my way back to Buffalo, I realized that the reason why I didn’t enjoy myself when I had the chance to be myself was because of fear. I became affected by ideas that appeared real because I acted as if they were. Well today those thoughts will no longer be my reality.

So ask me if I care…because I don’t.

14 thoughts on “Ask Me If I Care

  1. This was a wonderful post! I live with anxiety and I constantly feel like it’s working against me, trying to scare me into being “stuck.” But you’re right—sometimes you have to face your fear and refuse to back down from it. God bless!

Leave a Reply

