The Essence of Gratitude

When it seems as if everything is going wrong it may be hard to be positive. As I face disappointment after disappointment there are days when I feel weary. I pray, try to treat others the way I want to be treated and humble myself but some days I feel broken. I look at the things that I am still struggling with and wonder how come I haven’t got past this struggle.

I have committed myself to change but, it seems as if some things just haven’t changed yet. I look in the mirror in the morning with fear, hope, and expectancy; sometimes I look in the mirror after a long day with shame and discouragement.

This was becoming a daily routine for me day after day for the past few weeks.
I am proud of the fact that I decided to take the measures to make change in my life but, there was still something holding me back.

Although, I gave up my negative ways I was still stuck in the same struggles from it. The problem wasn’t the people who hurt me in my life; the problem was within me. The negative thoughts that I gave energy to was becoming my reality.

I was living a make believe world life in my mind that affected my actions in real life. When I took off the lens of my make believe world I saw that the problems that I saw where never there to begin with. I failed to see all of the positive people that actually where there the whole time and the things that God had blessed me with all along.

I may not be where I want to be but I have come a long way from where I started. Whenever you feel that all of the odds are against you I dare you to take a moment to really think about the things that are. If you are reading this you are already blessed because that means that you made it to see another day. Acknowledge the good thingsΒ in your life and be blessed.

34 comments

    • Thank you. I just pray and try to change my perspective on things. Each day gets better because it is not the problems that we face that causes our problems . Once you decide to be happy and not allow anyone to bring you down, life will get better. I am glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

  1. Hi, Thanks for reading my post, it introduced me to yours. Yours words about living in a fantasy world really struck home for me, it is far too easy to see things as you want them and not as they really are (something i only recently discovered i do) Good luck on your journey and don’t feel discouraged when you slip back into old patterns, it’s normal and part of the learning curve.

  2. I can soooo relate. Prayer makes things better. Instead of focusing on how much work I need and praying for that alone…I pray with thankfulness as to what I have overcome and what I have now.

  3. Hey Rayven,

    What a cool blog! I like that you are so open and honest with yourself and that has led you to this point of realization about where you are and the changes you are to make. You are on the right road to positivity and blessings and it’s wonderful that you’ve shared with others on this blog because some still need to get where you are. We all are in different places in life…its a blessing that we can know where that place is so we can face forward and keep it moving ;=_

    Be Blessed,

    LaTrice

    P.S. Thanks for stopping by the Simply Life In Christ Blog. Hope to see you again!

    • No problem and thank you so much for your feedback. I have been struggling with anxiety for the past 5 years and I was tired of fighting my way through each day. I tried various approaches to feel better such as changing my hair, my image, and trying to be accepted by others. My life didn’t get better until I decided to get closer to God.

      • Right answer!!!! Go Rayven! ;=) You ar well on your way and remember you can cast ALL of our anxieties on Him for he cares for you. 1Peter 5:7 And that’s a promise ;=)

        Live Blessed,

        LaTrice

  4. Joy to read… I know that feeling and go through the same motions – but we have a lot more to be thankful for in life – prayer and gratitude and realization that there are so many people out there who are in so much worse off positions, makes you humble — thanks for posting enjoyed it πŸ™‚

    • No problem. I am glad that you enjoyed it. I still have to remind myself of what is actually going right. As a matter of fact, I felt a little down this morning. Once I acknowledged what was going right, I saw my situation in a different perspective.

      • It’s all about perspective i realized this recently also.. One must keep going, as One realizes time will not wait for him or her. And as time goes on and the Seasons Change; we also do. Letting go is important and seeing the positive in a negative is more so; when we see that this life is a test, a trial, one which we can overcome – it becomes simpler and we become grateful. And hey, what’s life without a bit of drama eh? lol… Keep writing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

